There’s nothing to writing…

“There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” – Ernest Hemingway

il_340x270.627677985_mq8q

There are writers, authors, bards; those who pen words that come from their mind. Plot twists that were hatched in their mind without any passion behind it. Professionals that write what they think the masses will enjoy. Then there are artists, poets, visionaries who write the things that beg to be written. Hemingway’s quote always struck me. The only type of stories I know how to write, are the ones that make me bleed. The ones that seep into the black corners of my heart, and shadowed recesses of the mind, and they frighten me, stir me, excite me and shock me all at once. Write the things the stir your soul. Write the things that make you shudder in fear. Write the things that make your heart break and sing, shatter and renew.

The greatest disservice an author can give it’s reader is writing a book without pain and passion driving every word of the book. There are some who feel deeper than others. There are some who see the world differently. There are some who have been through hell – and they come back from the fiery ashes with a story to tell, passion to share, horrors to shed light upon and a love in their heart so tremendous that they have to share it.

Every book burns me.

Every character is deeply personal.

Every painful plot twist is torture. 

Every ending is both euphoric and heart-wrenching.

Every single book owns a little bit of the author’s soul.

Some writers write to entertain. Some writers write to lessen the burden of passion and pain in their wild hearts and weary minds. I am that author. I write because I must. I write because that is the only way I know how to make sense of this life. I have seen the best that life has to offer. I have seen the worst. I write to lighten my soul. I write to set a fire to another’s soul. I write because there are universes in me that have yet to be discovered. I write because I believe I have the power to change hearts, change minds, and change the world with the sweep of my pen.

Set the world ablaze with passion, one word at a time. Change the way people see the world and each other, one reader at a time.

Every time I write, as Hemingway put it, I bleed upon the page. It is the most intoxicating torture and thrilling release I have ever experienced, and day after day, I come back for more.

Find the thing that makes your heart sing and ache all at once.

I do not write for money. I do not write for popularity. I write because I must. I write because my brain will not still. I write because my heart aches for a world eradicated of pain and violence, cruelty and malice.

I write because my body, mind, heart and soul are all too small to contain the galaxy inside me.

-Addison Kline

there-s-nothing-to-writing-all-you-have-to-do-is-sit-down-at-the-typewriter-and-bleed-hemingway_original

Leave a Reply

